Risk of catching HIV?

So..what happened Batty? Did you get tested or what? Are you still alive?

I had 3 unprotected exposures (broken condoms) last week and...wouldn't you know it...have a temperature and very sore lymph nodes. Jeez.

I hate it when people make these kinds of threads and never update them!

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome back Batty.

I've been shagging around SE Asia, and elsewhere, for the last 18 years and in the early years I never ever wore protection. Although I try to now, and have done so for quite a few years (usually the girl reminds me), there are times when stopping to put on a connie is the last thing that enters ones mind and so I still go bb from time to time. I know I probably shouldn't but having done it I don't worry about it.

I've been tested for HIV 3 times in the last 6 years (mandatory for a UAE residence permit) and they've all been clear.

Everything I've read suggests that the male has an extremely low change of contacting HIV from an infected female unless he basically has cuts or open sores on his dick or groin, which I assume you don't have.

I'm not being blase about going bb and would never recommend it but on the other hand I don't consider doing it to be a serious risk.

Spoke to a doctor one night, or was introduced via a guy I know. He was an oldish US guy and he worked as a consultant to Bumrungrad dealing with anomalies in medicine.

He also worked on SARS and birdflu. Of course I took the chance to ask about HIV risk. And he shook his head and said it was impossible to for a man to get it from a women through vaginal intercourse. He explained that the natural flow of blood in the body is always out so the pressure is always outward meaning that infections can t get in. He said anal sex was a higher risk because the intestinal wall absorbs

easily. Thats what he said, and some of the guys said he was one of the top in his field. He was a vietnam vet. Think his name was DR Jack something.